Band 9 Speaking: Part 1 – Gifts

gifts-1

Do you like giving or receiving gifts?

Sample 1 – “I like being given something. It’s exciting to unwrap a present and see what it is. Also it shows that someone cares about you. Or maybe it just means that they want something in return!”

Sample 2 – “I prefer to give rather than receive. I love the look on someone’s face when they open a present. I also like to make things for people. I think it’s more meaningful than just buying something in a store.”

Sample 3 – “I like both. It’s nice to get something, especially something that you want, or if the gift is from someone that you like. But, I really like to give people things as well. It doesn’t have to be anything big or cost a lot of money. I just really like to see their reaction when they open it.”

COMMENTS –

  1. There is no right or wrong answer in speaking. As long as you can say something clear and try to speak for a few sentences, you can get a good mark. In the first example, the person likes to receive gifts, in the second example they like to give gifts, and in the third example they like both.
  2. Try to use some different structures when answering the question. In the first example, instead of saying “I like receiving gifts” (the same as the question), the answer is “I like to be given something”.

 

gifts-3

What kind of gifts do you prefer?

Sample 1 – “I like to get things that I can use – I mean things that are practical. It might be kind of boring, but I like to get things like socks and underwear because I always need those and I don’t like shopping for those things!”

Sample 2 – “I really appreciate something that I know the person giving it to me has put in a lot of thought into it. Maybe they remembered something that I mentioned liking and then a long time after that they see something like it and buy it more me. The cost doesn’t matter. It’s the thought that counts.”

COMMENTS –

  1. Try to explain your main points to make them clear (you can even repeat and clarify your idea using different language). In the first example “things that I can use” is made clearer by saying “things that are practical”.
  2. Try to use some natural language and common expressions. In the second example, the expression “It’s the thought that counts” is used.

gifts-2

 

 

2 thoughts on “Band 9 Speaking: Part 1 – Gifts

  1. Pingback: BAND 9.0 Speaking: Part 3 – Gifts | IELTS UNLOCKED

  2. Pingback: Band 9 Speaking: Part 1 – Colours | IELTS UNLOCKED

Leave a Reply

